This is Just the Beginning

It’s Tuesday evening, the night before we launch, and I’m writing a quick post to welcome you to Ancestry Press beta.  

We hope you’ll soon discover how easily you can create printable pages and books from the records, photos and other information that you’ve been adding to your trees on Ancestry.com.  We’re excited about the potential of Ancestry Press and have a great vision of what it can become.

Although we have our own ideas of what Ancestry Press should be we want to hear yours.   What would you like to be able to do?  Let us know what you like and don’t like and tell us about any bugs you find because we’re listening and together I believe we can build something great.  

I am looking forward to personally reading all of your comments and suggestions so we can use your feedback as we plan and incorporate future enhancements. 

36 Responses to This is Just the Beginning

  1. Roberta says:

    Congratulations! I think this will be a warmly welcomed addition to your website. I can’t wait to begin putting together our family’s history in a more organized fashion. Your templates will allow me to do just that!

    Thanks again!

  2. LindaGov says:

    I have been working on our tree…it would be great if it could be more than 4 generations. We have @ least 25 generations in some parts of the family. Great start!!

  3. J. Jackson says:

    This is a wonderful addition!
    I am having difficulty getting the combination or photo trees to work. It just wants to do the Standard Tree.

    Response from Ancestry Press:
    The combination and photo trees are not available yet. That’s why you can’t get them to work.

    Response from Ancestry Press – 2 August:
    We launched the combination tree today and have added photos to both the combination tree and standard tree. Photos will automatically be inserted into the tree when a project is auto-generated for each person as long as there are primary photos on Ancestry.com.

  4. Susan says:

    Wow! this is fantastic, can’t wait to play. Confirms what excellent value this site is.
    Just one question. Is it possible to add to the family tree on page one so that it shows more than four generations?

    Good luck – many thanks

  5. I have 10 generations, so I would definitaly like more than 4 like you have. also I much prefered the old tree. It told a story after everything was entered….

  6. Shirley says:

    This is great. I’m having a great time playing with it.

  7. Shirley says:

    Great site the help tab has not got much of the way of information and also wish to start at the beginning each time time I go on to my family tree perhaps I not getting how you should proceed on this matter just showing my I age I suppose

  8. Mebble says:

    It’s like you read my mind! This is exactly what I was looking for. I’ve just been researching for a couple of months and been printing out records and pedigree charts so that I could share with family and get their input. This will make things a lot easier and a lot more presentable. I can’t wait to see what kind of improvements and new features are in store! Thank you!

  9. Celeste says:

    Just what I have been looking for. This will help me get a little more organzied and be able to show off to my family. I have enjoy my subscription to Ancestry.com very much.

  10. Sean Collins says:

    Great start. The tool is easy to use. I am looking forward to photo trees and integration with FTM. I too would like to see more than four generations.

  11. Georgia Walker-Adams says:

    I have recently completed a timeline for my dad and this would be a great way to get it down in print in a professional-looking format. Thank you, Ancestry!

  12. I think this is just the greatest. So far I’ve just been playing around with it. But can’t wait to copy a whole project to see how it looks. Ancestry.com youv’e done it again. GREAT JOB!!!

  13. Eileen Zakielarz says:

    I like the concept, however, its slower than molasses in January. I use a Mac OSX and either Safari or Firefox web browsers. I have also run it on my emulation windows machine using Windows XP and Internet Explorer with the same slow results.
    So, my request is to make sure everything runs on Macs as well as windows…
    Has anyone been able to print preview or print yet?

  14. Pam Dugas says:

    Love the concept and I realize it is only in the beta stage – but I have to agree that it is extremely SLOW. I was playing around and upload photos and documents from my hard drive and clisked on save and PLEASE WAIT was there an abnornally long perior od of time.

    I also would like the option to be able to select how many generations to include
    and also a feature to be able to print the entire “book” instead of one page at a time.

    This is an OUTSTANDING addition and I can’t wait to get my book completed.

    Thanks

  15. Lynn S says:

    Love the features. Have printed a few family group sheets and the format is wonderful. I have to agree with Pam, need to be able to select more generations. Have to start a new book for each one of the children listed in my previous book.

    Keep up the great work ancestry; can’t wait to see all of the new features that you plane on adding.

  16. Nancy Macdonald Jordan says:

    Love the concept! I have older relatives who do not own computers. Printing out the information for them and presenting in a standardized format is great. Since not all the format and bulk print functionality is there yet, I have some work arounds and hints for creating a book that I have posted in separate categories on this community forum. It would be great if all Beta users share hints, shortcuts, work arounds and lessons learned.
    Thanks Ancestry.Com – you have the best website out there!

  17. I have my family tree ready to publish and can not find how to print. Enjoyed the program.

    Response from Ancestry Press:
    1) Click on the “Print Preview” button at the top of the page in the Ancestry Press application.
    2) Click on the “Print Page” button which you will see just below the page that you want to print.
    3) If you want to print a different page you must navigate to that page by clicking on the green arrows to the left or right of the page OR by clicking on the page icons at the bottom of the page and then follow step 2.

    Note: Right now you can only print one page at a time. We are working to add functionality to allow you to print multiple pages at a time.

  18. How do I print what I want to publish?

  19. Michelle says:

    Does the information we publish with Ancestry Press Beta end up in OneWorldTree?

    Response from Ancestry Press:
    No, Ancestry Press is simply a means to help you organize your tree data into an easily edited and printable format. In the future you will have the ability to invite others to view, edit or print your book.

  20. Karen says:

    I have a census that has the family on two different pages (bottom of first, top of second). I don’t see the first page in the slide show. It may be there and I’m not understanding how to find it, or this may be a glich with in the program you will want to look at. Thanks for your time

    Response from Ancestry Press:
    This is where the power of Ancestry Press comes into play. If you have attached both of the census images to a person in your tree on Ancestry.com you can pull them into Ancestry Press. Here’s how you can do it:
    1) Go to the page that has the second page of the census image that you are referring to.
    2) Select the tree and person that has the census record attached to them on the “Ancestry.com tree” tab. This will display all the attached records for that person in the asset tray. If you don’t understand how to do this please view the Ancestry Press demo.
    3) Drag the first page of the census record down from the tray to the working page and crop the two census records so that you display them one above the other to show all the people that you are interested in. Again the demo will give you an idea of how this can be done.

  21. Roberta says:

    Im so frustrated I added two more 4 generation branches to a project and then it just froze when I was trying to save it. ended up having to close the page and it didnt save any of the data I had just input. cant wait for the glitches to be worked out!

  22. Eileen says:

    I love the site, having a great time with it.

    I am getting the error message ” Date is later that the mother’s death date”, but when I go back to the record , this is not the case, only one time had I actually typed in the wrong date .

    Thanks
    Eileen

  23. Beverly says:

    I agree that this idea is wonderful and long over due. I also agree with others in that it is very slow and I find that I have real problem using it with IE 7. Anyone else having this trouble? I really enjoy playing around with the features and at this point I am not worried about adding a whole lot but just a little at a time to see how the system responds.
    I found that some pages had lettering which over lapped but found it very easy to adjust it all. I think being able to move the items around and make the adjustments is great. Now I am just worried about what the cost is going to be when all the bugs are worked out. lol

  24. Crystal says:

    I’m frustrated that siblings cannot be displayed. I know it would take time, but I want to see Uncles, Aunts and Cousins

  25. Sandy says:

    Any one know how to attach a second photo to a page? I keep getting an error even though I have uploaded the photo to during the initial creation. The demo tells how to do this, but it won’t work for me.

  26. Eileen Gross says:

    So far, so good. However, need to make an additionl editing feature on entries. Example, I enterered one person as someone’s son instead of their brother. I couldn’t ‘reassign’ the relationship. So I had to delete him as a ‘son’ and re-enter his information as his ‘brother’. No big deal, definately user error, but I’ve got many more to type in, and for sure I’ll be making more mistakes…. Just a thought for an added editing feature.

  27. anthony says:

    It would be great if you can transform changes from your tree to the book automatically.

  28. Jody Benjamin says:

    I just read all the glowing accounts above. How on earth were all those people able to figure out how to use this?

  29. Jody Benjamin says:

    Do you have to have a family tree posted on ancestry to use this? How does this relate to family tree maker, if at all?

  30. Elaine says:

    Thank you so much for this valuable tool. It’s wonderful to be able to put together everything that I’ve worked so hard in finding in an easy to use way. It’s an clear and readable way for my family to view all my hard work. However, I can’t wait until you can print all of the pages out at once, as it makes it very difficult and time consuming to print one page at a time. Thanks so much!

  31. Robert Curtis Cox, Jr says:

    I would like to print out a list of each family name with the information on each name to use to qioclly find out what I lack, a way to edit. Thanks

  32. Marvin Tabler says:

    I’ve created a Family Tree Book using FTM ver 16. On the FTM 2008 version I do not see where I can build the same repot with the following headings: Title page, Table Of Contents, Preface, Decendant tree, Text item page, Register Report for my Dad, Index. Although the web book has bells and whistles, it’s not for me. I do like Ver 2008 for the maps and locations areas. There seem to be too many screens to access when building a family that has 8 kids in the family. Please let me know if the desk top reporting will be available as in Ver 16.

  33. John Tyler says:

    I have 9032 individuals in my data file. I have created a Book with FTM ver .16. How in heavens name do you expect me to have a book with more than 9032 pages? I guess I will go back to Version 16 as I can get by with all details in less than 700 pages. There is just not enought information on a page. Have one page per individual just doesn’t make a genealogy. I may be nice for those with just a few generations, but guess it isn’t for me and many others who want a complete genealogy.
    I hope you can add the ability to create a book as we did in the past with Ver 16. Thanks for not deleting Ver 16 when I updated to FTM 2008.

  34. Don't publish full name Joan Herren says:

    Marvin Tabler on August 7th, 2007 at 3:50 pm said exactly what I think. Here I spent all this money to order the new Family Tree Maker 2008 to get the new items they displayed but then we can’t make genealogy charts nor compose our own books. They removed those most important items and so I have to keep both 2006 and 2008 going on my computer and then make sure that I enter the same info. in each version. Why oh, why did they think they could offer us a better book, than we ourselves can make? I guess people new to genealogy or who are just beginning or adopted and therefore have problems finding their ancestors, will like your Book.
    But Marvin and I wanted to personalize our book not have someone else tell us what to do and to boot we have to pay for you to publish a book you want us to buy rather than us making our own personlized book which will not be just like someone elses book. I think those people or person who made this software should put those 2006 genealogy charts back and also all those books items and then send each of us who have purchased this earlier 2008 version the new copy for free. I feel that I was further ahead with 2006 and if I hadn’t already noted on the paper holders of those three CDs I would have sent them back and refused the book when it arrived. I am so very disappointed and had to do without other things I needed to purchase the 2008 and the Post card CD, and the CD which was to explain how to use 2008 wasn’t worth that amount either. How do I get my money put back into my Visa?

  35. Tom Jennings says:

    It is a good concept but I have yet to find a way to create a registry, NGSQ or Ahnentafel type report…There should be a way to create a book like in Version 16…
    In addition, I keep getting an error box that states, “Authentication with the server failed”. This has happened on both of my computers and I have deleted and reinstalled this program at least twice.

  36. Lisa says:

    I love some of the new features, but I wish you had just added them to the V.16, instead of getting rid of them, or forcing users to upload their work to Ancestry.com. I also had started books in V. 16, and now I feel cheated that I can’t work on it in FTM 2008 unless I upload it to Ancestry.com. You should explain that in the ads- If I had known it, I would not have bought this new version.
    I got the Postcards CD, and it arrived all scratched up. It freezes up every couple of pages. I don’t know if thats from the scratches, or the software. I would love to use it, but I don’t have time to reboot my computer all day. Also tons of postcards on the wrong pages (ie, New York postcards on TN site).
    The training video was helpful in explaining some of the new features.
    As others have pointed out, the whole program is slow, slow, slow. I hope the bugs get worked out soon, and that the powers in charge will reconsider making users upload their trees to Ancestry.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

